Almschi!

Alma Mahler lived in the turbulent first half of the 20th century. She was a composer, wife to Mahler, Gropius and Werfel, mistress to Kokoschka, Klimt, Zemlinski, and Alban Berg’s muse. She also inspired the renowned theatre collective SKaGeN into a catchy story about human pride and loneliness in a mixture of theatre and music.

Annelies Verbeke wrote a new theatre text full of grotesque lightness about the Alma figure, in which SKaGeN could celebrate their creativity. Also on stage are sixteen singers from Octopus Soloists, under the direction of Bart Van Reyn. They provide an impressive musical contribution with transcriptions sung in polyphonic manner, written by Mahler, Wagner, Berg, Alma Mahler herself, and a composition by young Ostend composer Joachim Brackx. It will not leave you unmoved.

‘Almschi! The best of Alma Mahler’ is a theatre production by SKaGeN & Octopus Soloists. This performance was created as part of Ostend Cultural City of Flanders 2010 and with support of the Flemish Government.

Login or register to view our archive.

Our extensive digital archive will eventually contain preperation scripts, promotion material, scripts, press folders. If you want to consult these files you will have to register yourself at the bottom of the play detail page. Caution: these files are copyrighted

ALMSCHI!

SKaGeN et Octopus Solisten jouent Almschi !

The best of Alma Mahler

Alma Mahler a vécu durant la première moitié, houleuse, du 20e siècle. Compositrice, elle a aussi été l'épouse de Mahler, de Gropius et de Werfel, l'amante de Kokoschka, de Klimt, de Zemlinski, et la muse de Alban Berg. Et elle est également la source d'inspiration du fameux collectif SKaGeN dans cette histoire captivante sur l'orgueil humain et la solitude, mêlant théâtre et musique.

Annelies Verbeke a écrit un nouveau texte plein de légèreté grotesque sur le personnage d'Alma, qui donne libre cours à la créativité de SkaGeN. La scène porte aussi seize chanteurs d'Octopus Solisten. Sous la direction de Bart Van Reyn, ils interprètent de nombreuses transcriptions polyphoniques de Mahler, Wagner, Berg, aussi d'Alma Mahler et même une composition du jeune compositeur ostendais Joachim Brackx. Une performance musicale impressionnante. Un ensemble qui ne laisse pas indifférent.

Almschi! The best of Alma Mahler’ est une production théâtrale de SKaGeN & Octopus Solisten. Cette représentation a vu le jour dans le cadre de Oostende Cultuurstad van Vlaanderen 2010 (Ostende, ville culturelle de Flandre) avec le soutien du Gouvernement flamand.

PLATEAU


Concept et jeu : 

Sam Bogaerts, Valentijn Dhaenens, Korneel Hamers, Mathijs Scheepers, Clara van den Broek, Laurence Roothooft & Viviane De Muynck.

Choeur :

Octopus Solisten sous la direction de Bart van Reyn

Texte :

Annelies Verbeke

Décor :

Ruimtevaarders (Christophe Engels & Karolien De Schepper)

Musique :

16 transcriptions polyphoniques de Gustav et Alma Mahler, Berg, Wagner e.a. Et une création de Joachim Brackx.

Costumes :

Barbara De Laere

Technique:

Jeroen Wuyts et Fati Ben Azouz

Production:

SKaGeN & Octopus vzw en collaboration avec De Tijd, Operadagen Rotterdam et Oostende Cultuurstad.


représentations

archive

Login or register to view our archive.

Nos archives numériques regroupent des critiques, des dossiers de presse, des textes, etc. L'accès à certains documents nécessite votre enregistrement. Attention : l'utilisation de concepts, de textes ou d'images est soumise aux règles relatives au droit d'auteur.