SMITENOCKBEAT

Bashing.

 

A word that sounds like the act itself. One can only imagine the bewilderment and helplessness of the victims. And we often have an opinion about that too.

In SKaGeN's new performance, Bjarne Devolder, along with Lukas Smolders (Angels In America - Olympic Dramatic) and Valentijn Dhaenens (SkaGeN & KVS), goes on a quest to find out what goes on in the minds of seemingly ordinary people who for no apparent reason start hitting or shooting people, or causing psychological harm through verbal means. The creators wonder about the perverse pleasure these people derive from these acts: it is odious but also a reason for fascination.

 

What traumas are at the origin of these acts? Is there only what Freud calls resentment and is there a deeper, social responsibility to be found in our society's shift to the right? Or are we talking about individual responsibility? The themes addressed in this performance are anger, toxic masculinity, (gay)bashing and political extremes. The creators study the importance of group dynamics, feelings of superiority and perverse desire. They do so on the basis of exemplary stories from world literature that have their roots in hatred, aggression and toxic world views.

 

The performance does not want to hold up a moralizing finger. It studies how radicalization in all its forms can occur. Who owns the truth and where are the lines drawn? For that is the reasoning then: “We do not close the door out of hatred for the other, but out of love for those who are inside.”

CONCEPT & TEXT: Bjarne Devolder, Valentijn Dhaenens / GAME: Bjarne Devolder, Lucas Smolders / TECHNIQUE: Gilles Pollak / BUSINESS MANAGEMENT AND COORDINATION: Korneel Hamers / PRODUCTION: SKaGeN & De Studio / WITH THE SUPPORT OF: The Flemish Community, Perpodium & Taxshelter.

archive

Archive items will be addes shortly

SMITENOCKBEAT

Dénigration.

 

Un mot qui sonne comme l'acte lui-même. On ne peut qu'imaginer la perplexité et le sentiment d'impuissance des victimes. Et nous avons souvent une opinion à ce sujet aussi.

 

Dans la nouvelle performance de SKaGeN, Bjarne Devolder, avec Lukas Smolders (Angels In America - Olympique Dramatique) et Valentijn Dhaenens (SkaGeN & KVS), part à la recherche de ce qui se passe dans la tête de personnes apparemment ordinaires qui sans raison apparente commencent à frapper ou tirer sur des gens, ou causer des dommages psychologiques par des moyens verbaux. Les créateurs s'interrogent sur le plaisir pervers que ces personnes retirent de ces actes : c'est odieux mais aussi un motif de fascination.

 

Quels traumatismes sont à l'origine de ces actes ? Y a-t-il seulement ce que Freud appelle le ressentiment et y a-t-il une responsabilité plus profonde et sociale à trouver dans l’évolution à droite de notre société ? Ou parle-t-on de responsabilité individuelle ? Les thèmes abordés dans cette performance sont la colère, la masculinité toxique, le (gay)bashing et les extrêmes politiques. Les créateurs étudient l'importance de la dynamique de groupe, des sentiments de supériorité et de désir pervers. Ils le font sur la base d’histoires exemplaires de la littérature mondiale qui ont leur origine dans la haine, l'agression et de visions du monde toxiques.

 

Le spectacle ne veut pas lever un doigt moralisateur. Il étudie comment la radicalisation sous toutes ses formes peut survenir. À qui appartient la vérité et où est-ce qu'on trace des limites ? Car c'est le raisonnement alors : « Nous ne fermons pas la porte par haine de l'autre, mais par amour pour ceux qui sont à l'intérieur. »

CONCEPT & TEXTE : Bjarne Devolder, Valentijn Dhaenens / JEU : Bjarne Devolder, Lucas Smolders / TECHNIQUE : Gilles Pollak / DIRECTION D’ENTREPRISE ET COORDINATION : Korneel Hamers / PRODUCTION : SKaGeN & De Studio / AVEC LE SOUTIEN DE : La Communauté flamande, Perpodium & Taxshelter.

archive

Archive items will be addes shortly