The Van Paemel Family

Man was born to work! Shit!

Rediscover this pearl of Flemish theatre literature and take a look at Flanders today. Where we still haven't finished working, integrating and assimilating. Where classes and communities still don’t speak each other's languages. Where families are torn apart and where young and old, rich and poor, stand against each other with knives drawn, based on land and faith. Where economic migration is still a necessity. And where oppression by the 1% leads to a fierce struggle: “The Van Paemel family” in a changing world, yesterday - 1903 - and today.

 

Valentijn Dhaenens has travelled the world for SKaGeN over the past 12 years with the hit monologues “DegrotemonD”, “DeKleineOorlog” and “Onbezongen”. In “DeKleineOorlog”, Dhaenens duplicates himself through screens and enters into dialogue with his 7 alter egos.

 

In "The Van Paemel Family", Dhaenens goes even further. In each of the four acts, he plays a different central character live. The numerous antagonists, also played by Dhaenens himself, are present digitally.

 

For those who still doubted it: “The Van Paemel family” is not a monologue, but a taste of creativity and bravado. Additionally, Dhaenens through this staging fights with demons from our past. He has an intensive discussion with his heritage, which is also the heritage of Flanders.

GAME AND CONCEPT: Valentijn Dhaenens / TEXT: Cyriel Buysse / TECHNIQUE, FILM RECORDING AND EDITING: Jeroen Wuyts / TECHNICAL ASSISTANCE AND SOUND: Nils Janssens /

MUSIC: Sara Salvérius / COSTUMES: Barbara De Laere, Charlotte Goethals & Charlotte Willems /

GRIME: Anaïs Wagner / STAGE ASSISTANT: Tineke De Meyer / PRODUCTION: SKaGeN & De Studio / BUSINESS MANAGEMENT AND COORDINATION: Korneel Hamers / WITH THE SUPPORT OF: The Flemish Community, PerPodium, Tax Shelter & De Studio

playlist

Thu 15/09/2022 Evergem Cultuurcentrum ism. CC De Herbakker School
Thu 15/09/2022 Evergem Cultuurcentrum ism. CC De Herbakker
Sat 17/09/2022 Brasschaat Cultuurcentrum
Sun 18/09/2022 - 20:30 Het TheaterFestival
Fri 23/09/2022 Oudenaarde
Fri 30/09/2022 - 20u00 CC De Abdij Geraardsbergen
Fri 07/10/2022 - 20u00 Leietheater School
Fri 07/10/2022 - 20u00 Leietheater
Sat 08/10/2022 - 20u15 CC Geel de Werft
Tue 11/10/2022 CC Beveren Ter Vesten School
Fri 14/10/2022 - 20u15 Theaterzaal Roxy Temse
Mon 17/10/2022 CC de Bogaard Sint-Truiden
Thu 20/10/2022 - 20u00 CC Nova Wetteren
Fri 21/10/2022 - 20u30 CC Mortsel
Fri 28/10/2022 - 20u00 GC Werf 44 Schilde
Mon 07/11/2022 CC Sint-Pieters-Woluwe
Wed 09/11/2022 - 20u00 GC De Kluize Oosterzele
Tue 10/01/2023 - 20u15 Cultuurhuis De Warande Turnhout
Thu 19/01/2023 - 13u30 CC 't Schaliken School
Sat 21/01/2023 - 20u00 Vrijetijdscentrum De Meermin Waasmunster
Sat 28/01/2023 - 20u15 Liers Cultuurcentrum
Wed 19/04/2023 DEStudio Antwerpen
Thu 20/04/2023 DEStudio Antwerpen
Fri 21/04/2023 DEStudio Antwerpen
Sat 22/04/2023 - 20u00 Zaal Roeland Lint

LA FAMILLE VAN PAEMEL

L'homme est né pour travailler !  Merde !

 

Redécouvrez cette perle de la littérature de théâtre flamande et regardez la Flandre d'aujourd'hui. Où on n’a toujours pas fini de travailler, d’intégrer et d’assimiler. Où les classes et les communautés ne parlent toujours pas la langue de l'autre. Où les familles sont déchirées et où jeunes et vieux, riches et pauvres, se dressent les uns contre les autres avec des couteaux tirés,  basé sur la terre et la foi. Où la migration économique est encore une nécessité. Et où l'oppression par les 1% conduit à une lutte acharnée : « La famille Van Paemel » dans un monde en mutation, hier - 1903 - et aujourd'hui.

 

Valentijn Dhaenens a parcouru le monde pour SKaGeN au cours des 12 dernières années avec les monologues à succès « DegrotemonD », « DeKleineOorlog » et « Onbezongen ». Dans « DeKleineOorlog », Dhaenens se dédouble à travers des écrans et entre en dialogue avec ses 7 alter ego.

 

Dans « La famille Van Paemel », Dhaenens va encore plus loin. Dans chacun des quatre actes, il joue un personnage central différent en direct. Les nombreux antagonistes, également joués par Dhaenens lui-même, sont présents numériquement.

 

Pour ceux qui en doutaient encore : « La famille Van Paemel » n'est pas un monologue, mais un goût de créativité et de bravade. De plus, Dhaenens se bat à travers cette mise en scène avec des démons de notre passé. Il mène une discussion intensive avec son héritage, qui est aussi l'héritage de la Flandre.

JEU ET CONCEPT : Valentijn Dhaenens / TEXTE : Cyriel Buysse / TECHNIQUE, ENREGISTREMENT DE FILM ET MONTAGE : Jeroen Wuyts / ASSISTANCE TECHNIQUE ET BRUITAGE : Nils Janssens /

MUSIQUE : Sara Salvérius / COSTUMES : Barbara De Laere, Charlotte Goethals & Charlotte Willems /

GRIME : Anaïs Wagner / ASSISTANT DE RÉGIE : Tineke De Meyer / PRODUCTION : SKaGeN & De Studio / DIRECTION D’ENTREPRISE ET COORDINATION : Korneel Hamers / AVEC LE SOUTIEN DE : La Communauté flamande, PerPodium, Tax Shelter & De Studio

représentations

jeu. 15/09/2022 Evergem Cultuurcentrum ism. CC De Herbakker École
jeu. 15/09/2022 Evergem Cultuurcentrum ism. CC De Herbakker
sam. 17/09/2022 Brasschaat Cultuurcentrum
dim. 18/09/2022 - 20:30 Het TheaterFestival
ven. 23/09/2022 Oudenaarde
ven. 30/09/2022 - 20u00 CC De Abdij Geraardsbergen
ven. 07/10/2022 - 20u00 Leietheater École
ven. 07/10/2022 - 20u00 Leietheater
sam. 08/10/2022 - 20u15 CC Geel de Werft
mar. 11/10/2022 CC Beveren Ter Vesten École
ven. 14/10/2022 - 20u15 Theaterzaal Roxy Temse
lun. 17/10/2022 CC de Bogaard Sint-Truiden
jeu. 20/10/2022 - 20u00 CC Nova Wetteren
ven. 21/10/2022 - 20u30 CC Mortsel
ven. 28/10/2022 - 20u00 GC Werf 44 Schilde
lun. 07/11/2022 CC Sint-Pieters-Woluwe
mer. 09/11/2022 - 20u00 GC De Kluize Oosterzele
mar. 10/01/2023 - 20u15 Cultuurhuis De Warande Turnhout
jeu. 19/01/2023 - 13u30 CC 't Schaliken École
sam. 21/01/2023 - 20u00 Vrijetijdscentrum De Meermin Waasmunster
sam. 28/01/2023 - 20u15 Liers Cultuurcentrum
mer. 19/04/2023 DEStudio Antwerpen
jeu. 20/04/2023 DEStudio Antwerpen
ven. 21/04/2023 DEStudio Antwerpen
sam. 22/04/2023 - 20u00 Zaal Roeland Lint